juxtaART has used up it's 2GB photo storage. To continue it's visual journal, juxtaART.the sequel is born. Do check out Part II by clicking on the link (blue text) above.

peace and love.

thank you.

Monday, September 12, 2011

Deadly Sins Series

The 7 Deadly Sins, also known as the Capital Vices or Cardinal Sins, is a classification of objectionable vices that have been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct followers concerning fallen humanity's tendency to sin. The currently recognized version of the list is usually given as wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

The modern concept of the Seven Deadly Sins is linked to the works of the 4th century monk Evagrius Ponticus, who listed eight evil thoughts in Greek as follows:
  • Gastrimargia (gluttony).
  • Porneia (prostitution, fornication).
  • Philargyria (avarice).
  • Hyperēphania (hubris) - in the Philokalia, this term is rendered as self-esteem.
  • Lypē (sadness) - in the Philokalia, this term is rendered as envy, sadness at another's good fortune.
  • Oorgē (wrath).
  • Kenodoxia (boasting).
  • Akēdia (acedia) - in the Philokalia, this term is rendered as dejection.
They were translated into the Latin of Western Christianity (largely due to the writings of John Cassian, thus becoming part of the Western tradition's spiritual pietas (or Catholic devotions), as follows:
  • Gula (gluttony)
  • Fornicatio (fornication, lust)
  • Avaritia (avarice/greed)
  • Superbia (hubris, pride)
  • Tristitia (sorrow/despair)
  • Ira (wrath)
  • Vanagloria (vainglory)
  • Acedia (acedia)
These "evil thoughts" can be collected into three groups:
  • lustful appetite (Gluttony, Fornication, and Avarice)
  • irascibility (Wrath)
  • intellect (Vainglory, Sorrow, Pride, and Discouragement)
In AD 590, a little over two centuries after Evagrius wrote his list, Pope Gregory I revised this list to form the more common Seven Deadly Sins, by folding sorrow/despair into acedia,vainglory into pride, and adding envy. In the order used by both Pope Gregory and by Dante Alighieri in his epic poem The Divine Comedy, the seven deadly sins are as follows:
  1. luxuria (lechery/lust)
  2. gula (gluttony)
  3. avaritia (avarice/greed)
  4. acedia (acedia/discouragement/sloth)
  5. ira (wrath)
  6. invidia (envy)
  7. superbia (pride)
(Source :

Deadly Sins Series 01 - Ira (Wrath)

Deadly Sins Series 02 - Vanagloria (Vainglory) 

Deadly Sins Series 03 - Avaritia (Greed) 

Deadly Sins Series 04 - Superbia (Pride) 

Deadly Sins Series 05 - Acedia (Sloth)

Deadly Sins Series 06 - Invidia (Envy)

Deadly Sins Series 07 - Luxuria (Lust)

Deadly Sins Series 08 - Gula (Gluttony)

Deadly Sins Series 09 - Tristitia (Despair)

Deadly Sins Series

Deadly Sins Series mini special

Deadly Sins 10 - Anarchy

Deadly Sins 11 - Order

Deadly Sins Series mini special

Deadly Sins 12 - Fury

Deadly Sins 13 - Tranquility
This is one is off to US..

No comments:

Post a Comment


juxtaART has used up it's 1GB photo storage. As this blog is a visual diary of juxtaART's journey into the abstract surrealist world of art, hence juxtaART.the sequel is born. All new entries will be uploaded there (click on the blue text above). Please continue to support juxtaART as we are committed in continuing to 'nganga'ing everyone.

peace n love.

thank you.